When not only is listening a skill, but that reading is too

…but that is if you have been given the tools that would enable you to either listen and or read. Sometimes you do not need to be something to know something about something. You need to use your common sense, that’s if you know what that is or that you have any of it.

As Bloggers we do get ticked off, sometimes, by people who first comment on what we have written and later read and try to make sense as to what it is that we were trying to say on that particular blog post in the first place. And a comment by a guy calling himself Kenneth is one such example. Kenneth was responding to a blog post I wrote on February 2001 (see here) about foreign nationals who are known in South African as “Kwerekwere”.

He accused and bashed me, saying I “will never have made it as a writer”. As if I told him that I wanted to be one.

He said I appeared as “half educated (bantu)”. I am not sure what informed his half-education about me, but that is what he said.

So for understanding purpose, allow me to repeat what I had written at the time that ticked off Kenneth ONLY on March 26 this year:

“Kwerekwere is a term used mostly by South Africans or in South African with reference to foreign nationals visiting/touring or residing in the country.

Briefly, Kwerekwere means foreign nationals in a foreign land/country. Many South Africans, I have observed, claim that many of the foreign nationals (I prefer to call them) take their wives, jobs and houses. Though this claim may be difficult to prove, there are however indications that many foreign nationals occupy the almost- or abandoned-buildings and turn(ed) them into business opportunities as tuck shops especially in rural areas, and in metropolitan cities too, e.g. Pretoria and Johannesburg.

They – foreign nationals – continue to be seen as the main-brain behind criminal activities happening in the country, mostly Nigerians, and are therefore requested to be returned to their country of origin SA citizens, despite many having resided/stayed and are now citizen-by-ID for many years, if not decades.

Just this afternoon at the time of writing, I had come across a response to my blog on one of the posts I made some time ago from Kwerekwere in which I made reference to the transformation atNorth WestUniversity, especially its Mafikeng Campus as a former student. I was, I must say, surprised that Kwerekwere was not ashamed and resistance as many of his peers (other foreign nationals) would be as far as the word is concerned. Instead, he took pride in the word and turned it into something positive and added a positive meaning to it and names it after his blog.

What’s in the word? Having lived or living in a foreign land – decades, years or even months – do you regard yourself or family Kwerekwere?”

This is what had gotten Kenneth so pissed of at me that he even accused of being “half-educated” through Bantu education.

Thanks Kenneth for noticing. I will keep that in mind next time my education is brought into question. Thank you very much. But as much as I can write, I think it is best to ignore your failure to engage constructively and answer the question I asked at the end of the article for which you have since accused me of being “uncivilized” for.

That Kenneth had written about a “450 page novel” on the topic I have never questioned nor was I ever interested in knowing, but thanks for bringing that to my attention, anyway, Kenneth. Thanks for even take notice of my take on the Kwerekwere issue.

Kenneth further claims, without much proof, that I “support the maltreatment of foreign blacks… not minding what we the rest of the black world did for black South Africans”. Do you really agree with this nonsense? Come on Kenneth….

“Your are uncivilised and ill-exposed. You should visit other countries and experience what it is like to live abroad. You must remember that not all blacks are as lucky as you black South Africans. If you ever run into us kwere-kwere….” Kenneth accused me in his response. “Please have mercy in the name of God”, he pleaded.

Well, this is clear proof that not only is listening a skill that should be mastered but that so is reading first and then commenting too especially for people like Kenneth. And this is one hell of a lesson not only for Kenneth and I but for you too.

Remember: read, understand and then comment.

One thought on “When not only is listening a skill, but that reading is too

Leave a Reply

