My Open Letter to Donald Trump

It is with such great displeasure and disgust that I have to write this open letter to you. If you were next to me at the time of writing this I probably would have given you a piece of my mind and told you to go to a place where there are no black people – which, of course, does not exist as you very well know expect that they do not exist in your head – or I would have told you to go and hang yourself.

I am not sure if saying you are a “racist” will hurt you as much as it did former US president George Bush as he said it did when I watched him as he told Oprah Winfrey on her show which was broadcasted on the South African Broadcasting Corporation on SABC 3 last week. I doubt if you even cared what the heck many of us think of you as you just seem to care less except about trying to make people feel less than they are worth.

Bush told Winfrey during the show in which he looked quite emotional that: “You can accuse me of my politics, but don’t accuse me of being a racist”. This after he was accused of being a racist, that he did not care about the many African Americans who were left destitute by the Katrina disaster. Bush, as far as he looked from the TV screen, was quite emotional when he said this although I cannot tell if he was pretending or not. And if he was, well, he’s quite a good actor, but if not, I feel sorry for him that he felt that bad. He said this at the time when he was speaking to Winfrey about his book, Decision Points.

Recently you have intensified your US presidential campaign, and even without sparing words for your black president, Barrack Obama, whose birth and academic record or qualification you have questioned. This, I must say, was the worst thing I have ever come across.

Here in South Africa, although it may have been done quietly, president Jacob Zuma had his school background questioned too but not to the extent that you did that of Obama that you even requested that he makes them public or that you would like to see transcript records of his university results because you have been informed that he was quite terrible during his schooling.

You are even quoted, allegedly in interview with the Associated Press, as saying: “I heard he was a terrible student, terrible. How does a bad student go toColumbia and then to Harvard?”. As if just because he is black or that you question his blackness he therefore did not deserve to have made it to Columbia or Harvard.

You went further to even say: “I’m thinking about it, I’m certainly looking into it. Let him show his records”. “I have friends who have smart sons with great marks, great boards, great everything and they can’t get into Harvard,” you are further quoted as saying. “We don’t know a thing about this guy. There are a lot of questions that are unanswered about our president”, you were quoted as saying in that interview.

Well, I am not sure if this whole thing really has “nothing to do with race” as you claimed to the Union Leader’s John Distaso last week. And as you rightly said to Distaso, I bet you are indeed “very proud of myself because I’ve accomplished something that nobody else has been able to accomplish”. Yeah, right.

I agree with many who have blamed the media for giving you so much coverage on raging and heralding insults at Obama than you should have received. And it is no wonder Obama says he had no time for your bull-shirting, that he had better things to do than having to argue with people like you who did not seem to think twice before they open up their mouth.

And since you so much don’t seem to “hurt” as easily as Bush did, I think you will then not be surprised when people call you a ‘racist’. Or will you?

Bush said to Winfrey that “You don’t call a man a racist” as that hurts a lot. Or maybe we just happened to misinterpret your statements? Well, I think not.

And to quote The Root Online magazine: “we can’t allow this type of backward messaging to go unchallenged. We can’t be afraid of the race card because, for millions and millions, it’s not a card. It’s their life”.

One thought on “My Open Letter to Donald Trump

  1. Pingback: “Don’t call me racist, it hurts”, George Bush tells Oprah Winfrey « Akanyang Africa

Leave a Reply

